The sweetest of the sweet po-tats

I bet this is starting to sound like some sort of cooking blog, but it just so happens, cooking is a very big part of my life right now. I started thinking about a different way of doing sweet potatoes, not just baking them. So, I thought, why not try mashed sweet potatoes. I’d never even tried regular mashed potatoes before, but these days that won’t stop me (though not long ago, that minor detail would banish the idea from my mind!). I can just look up the general way to do it. That’s what the internet is for, right?!

So I peeled those sweet po-tats, chopped ’em up, boiled them til soft enough, drained the water, mashed ’em (this part is very important to not forget), added a little margarine (soy margarine), as well as some basil and stir and finish cooking. To round out the meal, I enlisted some curry powdered (and other spices-ed) tofu and then did up some bok choy with a light wink of sesame oil. It was a really nice meal, I think. The sweet potatoes were pretty sweet! Very soft and delicious. My friend in the house who’s also vegetarian tasted some and enjoyed it.

On a-slightly-nother note, yesterday for something to do I checked out a small market across from the station called “Lucky” that I never really knew was there. I had heard about it’s existence recently and someone said it’s expensive. But I thought I’d check it out anyway. To my surprise, they had many things to interest me. There, I found a “vegetable-only” curry mix! If you see pigs flyin’, now you’ll know why. In Japan, basically all curry has beef or some kind of meat extract. But I checked all the ingredients and, indeed, as it says on the package, it’s been made without using any meat at all. Hurray.

Other interesting finds of note:
Hummus mix
Falafel mix
Tabouli mix

In general, more international items. However, of course, those things mentioned are really expensive. But it’s interesting to find them there, nonetheless. One other thing I found……chickpeas!!!!! I found these in Umeda (one of the big city centres of Osaka), but it’s about 40-50 minutes away by trains, costing about $10 round trip, thus I would only buy them there if I was in the area. And even still, it’s a pain to carry that around if I’m out gallivanting with people. So yeah, this place is 10 minutes away from my house, and the chickpeas are cheaper there too! It looks like I’ll have a very hummus-y future here.

Tomorrow I’m going to a Cherry Blossom viewing party with peeps from my house at Osaka Castle!

img_0375

2 responses to “The sweetest of the sweet po-tats

  1. kyle its been a month c’mon!!!

Leave a Reply

